17 things that 2017 has taught me

Now that it is over half-way through 2017 and it is quite difficult to move in this cold, I have decided to take a moment to stand (or sit) still and reflect on 17 things that I have learnt so far:

  1. Too much of a good thing is bad for you. Pizza wraps and Coke are not your friends.
  2. You are you, that’s truer than true; there’s no one in this world that’s you-er than you! Which I have to tell myself time and time again when I happen to park next to Melinda wam-Bam I’m perfect ma’am and I’m, well, me.
  3. If they complain about the way you do things, when you do something good and with good intentions, then they don’t deserve to have you do something good for them. (Disclaimer: Don’t do something to get something.) But you don’t need people complaining about the way you do things. Invest in those who see your value.
  4. Try doing leg day in your converse (flat) sneakersWhitney Simmons Leg Workout This will make you so aware of how supple your hip-flexors and hamstrings are (not) and you will approach leg day a bit differently.
  5. Don’t greet people who never greet back. There are two people I have contact with on a daily basis: one who would never greet first, who I always greeted, who would grunt back and another who I know just does not like me. I have made the conscious decision to stop wasting my breath. Einstein says the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
  6. Rather be the one who smiles first, than the one who doesn’t smile back. This probably seems contradictory to number 5, but I believe that we should be friendly to all, especially strangers and service-deliverers – you never know what battle they might be fighting.
  7. Go with the flow. My two-year-old has recently discovered that he can take his shoes and socks off, put them back on, take them off, put them back on, take them off, put them back on…you get the drill? Which is okay, except that each put on / take off stint takes (what feels like) fifteen thousand hours and has a lot of screaming and biting of shoes in the episode. May I help him put them on? No. Will rushing him help? No. Will losing my temper help? No. Should I just go with it? Absolutely. And like my husband very accurately pointed out (when I did not need him to be so accurate) – today he will take fifteen thousand hours to put them on, and tomorrow only ten thousand, let him practice.
  8. Gratitude is a magnet for miracles. You have a greater chance to win the Lotto 10 times over than you do to be born. You are a miracle, live accordingly.
  9. Water is a miracle worker. For your skin, for your organs, for your weight-loss / tone up / maintain / perfect body journey.
  10. People are about as happy as they make their mind up to be.
  11. Honesty is the best policy.
  12. Some people will never be able to give unconditional love, not even to their children. I don’t understand it. I will never be able to. I can’t even begin to fathom it, but I’m sure they have their reasons and at the end of the day they have to explain what they did with what God entrusted them with.
  13. We are very good lawyers for our own mistakes, but very good judges for the mistakes of others. Which probably goes hand in hand with number 12. Not one of us are above reproach. Say sorry when you’re wrong. Learn. Move on. Don’t be so quick to judge others. Like Atticus said in To Kill A Mockingbird: You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view, until you climb into his skin and walk around in it. 
  14. Everyone who leaves will eventually come around again. In work, in your personal life – and therefore, be careful to leave everywhere and everyone with grace and dignity.
  15. Not everything is about you. In your marriage, especially, concentrate more on how you can make your partner’s life easier / better, and less on what they can do for you and I assure you that you will reap the rewards.
  16. Invest in fierce lady friendships. 
  17. Laughter is the best medicine. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

