Wednesday Wisdom – all the pretty things

I’m going to make everything around me beautiful, and that will be my life…

Elsie de Wolfe

I am crazy about beautiful things. I will gladly spend my day helping other people be the best versions of themselves, but, since I am a full-time attorney and not a full-time BFF, let me share a few of my favourites with you, my already gorgeous reader:

I dislike my skin. I don’t like that it is fair. I don’t like that I have breakouts (and I’m nearing 30 – will the skin gods just bless this face already). I am blessed with an unbelievably dry skin. Luckily, I have found four (4) amazing products to help me love the skin I’m in:

seaweed fw.jpg

The Body Shop – Seaweed Deep Cleansing Face Wash

I know it says that it is for oily / combination skin, but this face wash has done wonders for my skin and I love how clean it makes my face feel after a full day of wearing make up.

Image result for body shop mask

The Body Shop – Drops of Youth Bouncy Sleeping Mask

I am obsessed with The Body Shop’s (The Body Shop Official Siteproducts mainly because their ingredients are ethically-sourced and they stand firmly against animal testing. I put this mask on every night and it has made such a difference to the amount of breakouts I’ve suffered.

Image result for glass of water

Water

I can use the most expensive beauty products and follow an intense skin-care regime, but if I don’t hydrate my skin from the inside, it shows. The rule of thumb is to drink about two-litres of water a day. This does include water contained in other drinks and even food, but remember some foods (e.g. sodium-rich foods) will increase the amount of water you need to take in.

flawless-darker.jpg

FakeBake Flawless Darker Self-tan Liquid

FakeBakeSA (Fake Bake SA Official Sitehas taken social media by storm and it isn’t difficult to figure out why. This specific self-tan has a triple formula ensuring a long-lasting and seamless tan. It contains a bronzer, so that upon application it gives an instant colour. There are no artificial preservatives or parabens (this is important because we love the skin we’re in) and it doesn’t have that usual, gross self-tan scent, instead, it has a summery smell (does that make sense?)

 fondotinta_elenco

Karaja Make-up- Photo Finish Foundation

Karaja Make-up (Karaja Instagram Profiledoes not test on animals (yay) and is committed to including only quality ingredients in each and every product. The Photo Finish Foundation provides a full coverage, while allowing your skin to breathe, which is an absolute necessity if you tend to have breakouts.

I urge you to watch YouTube make-up tutorials (Lauren Curtis YoutubeChloe Boucher Everyday Makeup Look), identify your best features are and play around with that. I tend to focus on my eyes when doing make up, because I am secure (enough) about the way they look. You won’t see me contouring and highlighting like a MAC make-up artist trying to sell their contouring palettes, but I do take time to play around with different looks on my eyes. I enjoy the Essence range (available at Clicks and Dischem stores nationwide)

They have a wide variety of eyeshadow palettes, a stunning easy-to-use face contour palette, concealer that provide medium to full coverage and an extensive range of lipsticks. They are super affordable and also (you guessed it) don’t test on animals.

And then, our crowning glory. Our hair. The source of happiness and sadness alike. I love being blonde, although I am considering a new look pretty soon (if I dare).

I absolutely adore Hannon’s Platinum Infusion Shampoo (Hannon Online Store).

platinum-shampoo.png

Hannon – Platinum Infusion Shampoo

You guessed it, it’s not tested on animals, and it leaves my hair feeling clean and toned without making it purple. I know some people like a little purple shimmer, but I am not that person. I am also not a brassy-hair fan (who is??) and this shampoo has got me hooked.

My mom has recently started using amla oil (which is so cheap that I am in love), and it has made such a difference to the quality and texture of her hair:

download (1)

 Amla Oil – R 18.95 from Clicks

These are a few of the tried and tested products that I absolutely love. That I have sworn by for a good number of years and that, no matter what other products I try, I fall back on.

If you have any questions, feel free to send me an email or message me on Instagram (@esteblogger_official) or leave a comment. Let me know if there are other products that you swear by, and I will gladly post about them (provided they are swoon-worthy).

Leave a Reply

